Search found 102 matches

by Mauro
Fri May 22, 2020 9:42 am
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Help
Replies: 8
Views: 103

Re: Help

Yaku are a series of hand combinations and situations (like riichi itself); you can find the list according to EMA rules at the end of this manual: https://www.ermc2019.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/Riichi-rules-2016-EN.pdf. Your hand would have a yaku if you declared riichi, or if you had another ...
by Mauro
Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:22 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Discard reading
Replies: 5
Views: 801

Re: Discard reading

Legendary Gambler Tetsuya. And no, no sunglasses XD
by Mauro
Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:46 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Discard reading
Replies: 5
Views: 801

Discard reading

In a show I'm watching, one of the players has this discards: Hand.jpg From this the other players suppose that he's tenpai, and that his outs are 3-dot 6-dot. Assuming he has tenpai could depend on him discarding 9-dot 8-dot, since that's a tātsu, so either he drew better tiles, he's aiming for tan...
by Mauro
Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:37 am
Forum: WWYD
Topic: Nanikiru? (WWYD)
Replies: 6
Views: 7050

Re: Nanikiru? (WWYD)

Would it make sense to discard green-dra ? You could have two red dora, tanyao, maybe closed sanshoku.
by Mauro
Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:48 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Hand requirement (Ryanpeikou) question
Replies: 11
Views: 7235

Re: Hand requirement (Ryanpeikou) question

Under EMA rules, you simply use the most valuable hand:
All players at the table are responsible for ensuring that each winning hand is scored correctly and to the maximum points
by Mauro
Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:37 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Krabman's Tenhou adventures
Replies: 12
Views: 4730

Re: Krabman's Tenhou adventures

Same as or2az: 6 crak or white dragon; maybe 6 crak, since it's a middle tile and it's near dora, so later on could be a dangerous discard, and white dragon could lead to little three dragons; but if you had to pon red dragon I think would be quite unlikely to have it. Still, as discard later on I t...
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:16 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Krabman's Tenhou adventures
Replies: 12
Views: 4730

Re: Krabman's Tenhou adventures

Good point about E3-1. I'm wondering if 4s wouldn't be the best discard there It depends if you want defend: I'd discard South and go from there. E2-0 By safe tile you mean 6m? I thought winning that hand was highly unlikely so I favored dama there But going dama you lose the chance to ron on 7p, w...
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:55 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Krabman's Tenhou adventures
Replies: 12
Views: 4730

Re: Krabman's Tenhou adventures

I don't play open tanyao, so keep in mind my comments could be off: About the first game: East 2/0: You could riichi discarding a safe tile and waiting on 7p 1z; that hand is at least mangan, so maybe I'd have taken the risk. East 3/1: When you discard 7m, I think I'd have discarded 2p: 2p is a lone...
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:00 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 2246

Re: Do you push?

One game I dropped from first to last because I paid three consecutive hands: two of them I was in riichi, the third was dama in fourth round (total: 18k). Another game, I never got tenpai. I'm sure I'm still making mistakes, but these last games luck isn't on my side :mrgreen:
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 1:45 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 2246

Re: Do you push?

Sure:
20160215.jpg
20160215.jpg (78.16 KiB) Viewed 2230 times
I'm currently again in a negative streak, way below my usual results; I'm trying to understand if I'm getting something really wrong, and meanwhile maybe I can improve my reading of the board.
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:42 am
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 2246

Re: Do you push?

Thinking about it, I should have at least three safe tiles: I see all of 9m and of 8m (and even three 6m); that means my three 9m are safe.
by Mauro
Sun Feb 14, 2016 10:35 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 2246

Do you push?

This is something I'm thinking about: when to push and when to fold. I had a rather terrible game in which I ended up fourth, and while some of the hands I paid were kinda unavoidable some I'm not sure I played at best other hands; one was this: 20160214.jpg South 3, I'm third by 1700; toimen and ka...
by Mauro
Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:12 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 21915

Re: Do you riichi?

Would you go in defense if after kamicha riichied you should discard dangerous tiles?

Not sure what's hanetsumo :?
by Mauro
Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:24 am
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 21915

Re: Do you riichi?

Both can improve to 1345 on one end, but 134 can improve to 1234 which is like a lone 4 but better, and 145 can improve to 1456, which is just a lone 1 Yup, but since 1234 is quite flexible as a form, I think I'd keep the 1 in 134, rather than that in 145. Another situation: 20160213.jpg South 4, I...
by Mauro
Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:26 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 21915

Re: Do you riichi?

According to Daina's book, if it's a pon don't bother asking yourself if the tiles near the discard are safe or dangerous; if it's a chii and the discard is in the same suit, it's likely safe; if it's a chii and the discard is in another suit, it's likely dangerous (which, pon aside, agrees with wha...