Search found 10 matches

by essnov
Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:52 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: 3-handed Mahjong
Replies: 13
Views: 2732

Re:3-handed Mahjong

I\'m going to try to answer some of your questions, but keep in mind I\'m by no means a 3p expert or whatever. Penalty for tsumo: In 3p, I think tsumo is even more common than it is in 4p (haven\'t seen any numbers about this, though) and without this rule, folding loses some of its attractiveness a...
by essnov
Sun Jul 19, 2009 12:25 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Scoring yakuman hands
Replies: 6
Views: 1435

Re:Scoring yakuman hands

Wow! Thanks a lot for that link. Very useful.

I can\'t recall how tenhou handles nine gates....

a few weeks ago someone went ron on a discard of mine for it. I\'m not sure, but I think he was on a single wait for the 1 bamboo and it counted as yakuman alright. :side:
by essnov
Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:26 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Scoring yakuman hands
Replies: 6
Views: 1435

Re:Scoring yakuman hands

I guess you make a point. It is pretty difficult to get that configuration, and even more so to get the 9-way wait without being furiten. I assume you play it so the 9-way wait scores double yakuman? I\'ve also heard of it being played where yakuman is only awarded on a 9-way wait with the added pre...
by essnov
Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:23 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Scoring yakuman hands
Replies: 6
Views: 1435

Scoring yakuman hands

Hey y\'all, I was wondering how some of you go about scoring the different yakuman hands in some particular cases... here\'s what I\'m talking about: Kokushi musou (thirteen orphans): Yakuman on single wait, double yakuman on 13-way wait? I play it so it\'s a single yakuman either way. chuuren pooto...
by essnov
Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:35 pm
Forum: WWYD
Topic: It's time for What Would You Discard! (June 13th)
Replies: 3
Views: 1234

Re:It's time for What Would You Discard! (June 13th)

I\'d discard the 9-crak outright. The hand stays at 1 shanten and once we pick up a 2-crak or 5-crak we can hold the shanpon-machi until we pick up a tile around the 5-dots. At that point I might call riichi depending on a few things... like if north is a guest wind, if we picked up the dora and etc...
by essnov
Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:13 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Why isn't Tsumo Pinfu ever set as 2 Fan 30 Fu?!
Replies: 4
Views: 1284

Re:Why isn't Tsumo Pinfu ever set as 2 Fan 30 Fu?!

Just found a poll which is relevant to this post on mahjongnews.com. I suppose you are talking about the pool labeled "The reward for Self-Draw \'Hu\' in MCR is… ". This pool is about MCR (aka Chinese Official), not Riichi. These two rules have a very different way to reward a self-draw. So much we...
by essnov
Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:46 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Why isn't Tsumo Pinfu ever set as 2 Fan 30 Fu?!
Replies: 4
Views: 1284

Re:Why isn't Tsumo Pinfu ever set as 2 Fan 30 Fu?!

I guess whoever made the decision about that rule was sticking to the idea that pinfu = no points. Here\'s my take on it: I remember reading somewhere else on this forum that tsumo was one of the most common yakus. Some members of the forum were arguing about whether or not awarding 1 han for tsumo ...
by essnov
Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:55 pm
Forum: WWYD
Topic: WWYD 6/27
Replies: 11
Views: 2420

Re:WWYD 6/27

I\'d drop 3m.

You don\'t really want to drop 3p for the case (as hirohurl said above) that you come across the 5p, and with that 3rd 4s draw, any reason of the 3m\'s sticking around is gone
by essnov
Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:02 pm
Forum: WWYD
Topic: WWYD 6/20
Replies: 4
Views: 1402

Re:WWYD 6/20

Um 3s i guess or 1m, 8p is also maybe an alternative but my instinct sais 3s... Well, you did say it was your instinct that is telling you 3 sou is the right discard choice, but I\'d definitely like to hear any reasoning behind it. ^^ The shape is overall not too great, but I would definitely throw...
by essnov
Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:21 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Dealer continuances
Replies: 20
Views: 3727

Re:Dealer continuances

Hey there, Both online and IRL, the rules for dealer continuance that I use are the following: - After an exhaustive draw, the deal only passes if east is noten (not ready). - If east wins, then he gets another shot at being the dealer. - During the south fourth round, the dealer may choose to end t...