Search found 800 matches

by or2az
Mon Jan 20, 2014 3:24 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: A question on waits?
Replies: 16
Views: 4307

Re: A question on waits?

I have a question regarding a game situation that has occurred more than once for me. Suppose my hand is exposed except for 2-dot 3-dot 4-dot 5-dot 6-dot . I am waiting for a 4-dot or a 7-dot for the tanyao win. I draw a 1-dot from the wall. I cant keep it because my hand is open and when I discard ...
by or2az
Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:25 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: How about some Sanbaiman hands?
Replies: 31
Views: 18501

Re: How about some Sanbaiman hands?

Not sure, but I think this is my first. Don't recall seeing that number "3" before.
Riichi, menzen tsumo, pinfu, iipeiko, and 7 dora.
by or2az
Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: thought I had a good one!
Replies: 5
Views: 2133

Re: thought I had a good one!

No problem! I'm glad you took the time to respond in the first place. I just finished a game where I thought I might have another good one but I wasn't holding my breath. Being in 4th place on the last hand, with my hand full of crap, I decided to go for it, and it happened. The game ended in a draw...
by or2az
Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:37 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: thought I had a good one!
Replies: 5
Views: 2133

Re: thought I had a good one!

Yes, I knew I didn't qualify for San Anko (three concealed pungs) when I claimed the discard. It was not getting credit for the San Renko (three consecutive pungs) that surprised me. I mean, Why have a Su Renko (four consecutive pungs) even exist as an optional hand if the San Renko doesn't count? A...
by or2az
Fri Jan 10, 2014 3:16 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: thought I had a good one!
Replies: 5
Views: 2133

thought I had a good one!

When I claimed the 4-dot that south discarded, I thought I had a REALLY good one! There was Toi-Toi, and four doras, and me in the east seat, and since 3 of the pungs were consecutive in the same suit (SAN RENKO), I had a total of 8 han, or so I thought. NO CREDIT FOR THE SAN RENKO. It's not that I ...
by or2az
Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:17 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: severely in need of an english translation!
Replies: 271
Views: 119507

Re: severely in need of an english translation!

got myself in a hole here. Obviously, I couldnt claim the 9-bam for a win that north discarded because my hand was open. Couldnt claim the 6-bam that south discarded for the win because I still had my 9-bam . What surprised me was I couldnt chi the 6-bam and discard my 9-bam . Aha, a message ive not...
by or2az
Sat Dec 28, 2013 8:00 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: A 1000 game statistical analysis
Replies: 5
Views: 2012

Re: A 1000 game statistical analysis

Thanks for the info, BART. Some of those postings from 2009 ( Hotel/yttrasil ) on game recording for analysis were pretty funny, the bantering back and forth, but it was interesting stuff. Very informative. Hope they made up. I'm seeing that playing video games is very different than playing real pe...
by or2az
Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:24 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: A 1000 game statistical analysis
Replies: 5
Views: 2012

A 1000 game statistical analysis

I have just completed my 1000th game (10,936 hands) on the Pro Mahjong Kiwame app over the last 6 months. Yes, I am addicted, but I play a lot during television commercials. Here are some statistical observations and comments, which may or may not be of some interest. You decide. Of the 27 yaku list...
by or2az
Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:57 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Oh my god....A double yakuman!
Replies: 6
Views: 2503

Re: Oh my god....A double yakuman!

Thanks. I really got a charge out of that one especially since it caught me by surprise. I understand all that renchan stuff. I was referring to the fact that (b) and (c) would ALWAYS stop the streak but (a) would not. It depends on the rule set. Sometimes a no-tenpai draw earns a continuance. See P...
by or2az
Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:21 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Oh my god....A double yakuman!
Replies: 6
Views: 2503

Re: Oh my god....A double yakuman!

I understand (b) and (c) but not (a). Doesn't a draw earn the dealer a continuance(renchan)?

EDITED STATEMENT: Doesn't a draw sometimes earn the dealer a continuance(renchan)?
by or2az
Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:05 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Oh my god....A double yakuman!
Replies: 6
Views: 2503

Oh my god....A double yakuman!

The game was close. The leader went into south #4 with 32,000 pts and the game was a draw. Everyone was tenpai except the leader so he lost 3000 pts and fell below the target score of 30,000 needed to win. The game extended into the west round. I was still alive! Some time later,......TSUMO.....96,0...
by or2az
Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:21 am
Forum: WWYD
Topic: WWYD 2013-12-07
Replies: 8
Views: 5744

Re: WWYD 2013-12-07

Okay, so you discard the 7-dot , get lucky and get back to tenpai by drawing another bam. Now you discard the other 7-dot . Assuming you're still in the game, now what. you have nothing safe left to discard except the tiles you draw, which is the same as calling riichi. (but without the benefits) Ar...
by or2az
Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:42 am
Forum: WWYD
Topic: WWYD 2013-12-07
Replies: 8
Views: 5744

Re: WWYD 2013-12-07

Interesting proposal. You are saying dont riichi , play it safe, toss the 7-dot (the other one would have to go,too) , give up tenpai, and go for a better wait. What better wait did you have in mind and why do you think the 7-dot is safe? It could be as dangerous as any bam. No 6 or 8 showing in dis...
by or2az
Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:14 am
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: 10 things I hate the most
Replies: 2
Views: 1457

10 things I hate the most

Here is my top 10 list of things I hate the most while playing mahjong video games. I'm sure you've experienced them all, and more. #10 Discarding a dragon early and immediately drawing an identical one. Discarding that one and immediately drawing a third one. #9 Getting that 3rd dragon or value win...
by or2az
Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:16 pm
Forum: WWYD
Topic: WWYD 2013-12-07
Replies: 8
Views: 5744

Re: WWYD 2013-12-07

The game was hanchan. I hit riichi and discarded the 5-bam . Dealer did not claim it. I didnt win the hand, neither did the dealer. I didnt provide the winning tile. I did eventually win the match. I thought about going the other way, for seven pairs, hence the reason for the WWYD, but I never consi...