Retro riichi games

Discussion on on-line and off-line mahjong softwares.

Moderator: Shirluban

FakeGamerGuy
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Retro riichi games

Post by FakeGamerGuy » Wed May 06, 2015 4:57 am

I started playing mahjong a little over a month ago and started buying import console games as I found them. So far I have Mahjong Master (N64), Mahjong Station Mazin (PS1), 2 for Gameboy and 1 for Super Nintendo (I forget the names off the top of my head). I was curious of anyone wanted screenshots, gameplay videos, and short reviews of each game.

Barticle
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder

Re: Retro riichi games

Post by Barticle » Wed May 06, 2015 4:28 pm

Hi Travis, welcome aboard! I'd certainly be interested in hearing your impressions and seeing a couple of screenshots - i.e. gameplay view and mode/rule options.

Bart

FakeGamerGuy
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Post by FakeGamerGuy » Wed May 06, 2015 11:02 pm

Mahjong Station Mazin
System: Playstation
Developer: Sunsoft
Gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZt85UxyMUk (Skip to 23:42 after the opening video is over for maximum WTF)
Summary: Not a bad game. Battle mode is absurd and potentially annoying. Standard mode your typical mahjong game. Overall the game has an interesting theme and is very Japanese.
Full review: http://www.fakegamerguy.com/2015/05/mah ... ion-mazin/

Ignatius
Silver Boarder
Silver Boarder
Location: (From Spain) In Ireland (EU) since 2016, so lazy I didn´t update this until 2019... (私は初心者だし、よろしく)

Post by Ignatius » Wed May 06, 2015 11:47 pm

Watched the video and the game sure looks old.

And that battle mode looks tiresome...

I was a kid a at that time, it made me remember those times.
But, well, it's a game from the start of the life of the first Playstation... Cool to see it.