So...I'm new to Mahjong

Guides and beginner's help. If you're new to mahjong, this forum is for you. All questions are welcome - don't hesitate to ask.

Moderator: Shirluban

BoyaSonny
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

So...I'm new to Mahjong

Post by BoyaSonny » Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:21 pm

Specifically, Riichi mahjong.

You've probably guessed it now, from anime like Akagi, I was pretty much bedazzled by the game of mahjong and wanted to learn how to play.

It's been almost a week since I started learning, and I think I understand a bit of the game now. I even memorized the symbols for the character tiles and their corresponding numbers.

Few questions for you pros here:

What to practice? How should I practice and hone my skills for mahjong?

Nothing important but, how old were you when you started learning how to play mahjong? I'm 14, just a freshman in High school.

Barticle
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder

Re: So...I'm new to Mahjong

Post by Barticle » Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:30 am

Hi and welcome to the forum. :)

It's always great to hear about another new person joining the mahjong family! Good job on learning the symbols on the character tiles - if you ever take Japanese (or Chinese) class you'll have a head-start since you can already read the numbers 1 to 9.

In the long-term the best way to practise is to play against other people, either in real life or online, but when you're just starting out you should play against a computer while you familiarise yourself with all the rules, learn basic strategy and build confidence. This single-player online game lets you play Japanese mahjong in English for free and would be a great place to start.

http://www.gamedesign.jp/flash/mahjong/mahjong_e.html