Is this Sanankou?

Guides and beginner's help. If you're new to mahjong, this forum is for you. All questions are welcome - don't hesitate to ask.

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
ardiel
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:56 am

Is this Sanankou?

Post by ardiel » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:53 pm

I was playing a yaku quiz and I came across this hand:
East Round, West Seat
Closed: 2-dot 2-dot 7-dot 7-dot 7-dot green-dra green-dra red-dra red-dra red-dra Open: :south :south :south Ron: green-dra

I got all of the yaku right except for it told me there was Sanankou. Doesn't calling ron on the green-dra make a minkou instead of an ankou, which would forbid the Sanankou since the :south is also open?

Who is right, me or the quiz?

User avatar
or2az
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 5:10 pm
Location: USA

Re: Is this Sanankou?

Post by or2az » Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:14 pm

I believe you are. Tsumo would give San Ankou, not Ron.
FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg (48.65 KiB) Viewed 2965 times

User avatar
Ignatius
Silver Boarder
Silver Boarder
Posts: 632
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: (From Spain) In Ireland (EU) since 2016, so lazy I didn´t update this until 2019... (私は初心者だし、よろしく)

Re: Is this Sanankou?

Post by Ignatius » Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:14 pm

I know that to have a San Ankô you need three concealed triplets. So if you called Pon you can only get it with Tsumo.
If you didn't call, you can get it with Ron.

Wich means you're right and the quiz it's wrong.
Life is as beautiful as you want it to be, but it´s only one. That´s why you must not get tired of it. Don´t care if you don´t say something that seems "important" because your mere existence is important for someone.

User avatar
Barticle
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1486
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK (and usually 一向聴地獄)
Contact:

Re: Is this Sanankou?

Post by Barticle » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:49 pm

Koizumi would just use his Goumoupai ability to abrade the sevens to make white drags for the yakuman. :D

ardiel
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:56 am

Re: Is this Sanankou?

Post by ardiel » Sat Oct 08, 2016 1:17 pm

Barticle wrote:Koizumi would just use his Goumoupai ability to abrade the sevens to make white drags for the yakuman. :D
Haha true... if he actually managed to get a hand that wasn't a Rising Sun.

User avatar
Shirluban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim
Contact:

Re: Is this Sanankou?

Post by Shirluban » Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:42 pm

As other said: you're right, the quiz is wrong.
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

Post Reply