Declaring Ron for a chi question

Guides and beginner's help. If you're new to mahjong, this forum is for you. All questions are welcome - don't hesitate to ask.

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
GreatAkagi
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:37 pm

Declaring Ron for a chi question

Post by GreatAkagi » Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:47 pm

Hello I have a pretty simple question I'm not sure about. I just started learning this awesome game. :) So my question is: if I meet yaku requirement and I'm in tenpai with a ryanmen wait. Can I declare Ron from anybody or does it have to be from the Kami cha (person to the left)? Since I know chi can be declared from the kami cha's discards only.

Thanks again! :D

Referee
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Declaring Ron for a chi question

Post by Referee » Sat Mar 04, 2017 8:31 pm

Good question, and welcome to this game. The answer is that yes, you can claim Ron from anyone, not just your kamicha, even if the winning tile goes into a Chii set. :D

Gnom
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:15 am
Location: 名古屋市

Re: Declaring Ron for a chi question

Post by Gnom » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:10 am

To clarify: chii is actually the call itself, the action of forming a sequence (or "shuntsu" in Japanese), while ron is a distinct call, the action of completing your hand. If you look at it that way it becomes pretty clear why restrictions for chii don't apply to ron ;-)

Post Reply