Yo, What would you discard this time?

Discussions about the What Would You Discard/Do from the main page.
Your own WWYD are also welcome.

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
Yttrasil
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:11 am

Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by Yttrasil » Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:03 pm

So I get a great hand, is the last and I just want to win this one as fast as possible, so first i wonder on the first picture - riichi or not?

On the second one, change my wait(and riichi?) since it maybe will come out faster... what do you guys think?

Image

http://a.imagehost.org/0303/mah.jpg larger pic

dwillems
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by dwillems » Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:16 pm

I\'d definately Reach on the first one. It\'s so early in the game.

The second one is difficult as the South wind is the dora, so people might be as reluctant to throw that one as they would a dragon. It\'s probably about the same chance with either.

How did the hands turn out?

User avatar
chalwa
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 10:01 am
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Contact:

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by chalwa » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:43 pm

I would reach at the first one, because when you reach so fast opponent would not know what is safe, and honor tiles are usually safer to thorw in those situation (thats how i see it). dwillems, dora is east not south; so I would change my wait, and reach now. I know its riskey because if south have 2 of his wind he will not throw it, but if he does not, chance to win will be much higher.

dwillems
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by dwillems » Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:46 pm

Oops! no more trying to figure out doras at 8 in the morning for me.B)

WorTeX
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:36 am
Location: Finland

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by WorTeX » Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:52 pm

Hand is a haneman without riichi, 6han, with riichi, still the same if uradora doesn\'t hit, though riiching would make pressure, I\'d probably not reach, waiting for south wind since it\'s going to come easier than the dragons.

Benjamin
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:49 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by Benjamin » Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:23 am

Wait on the south, since there\'s already one out.

I don\'t think there\'s a reason to riichi in either case. All you\'re looking to do is win, so you certainly don\'t need the extra yaku.

There are certainly reasons *not* to riichi. Riichi-ing will *not* make the tile more likely to be discarded. Most likely it won\'t make much of a difference since it\'s the last round and anyone aiming for first will not be playing defense.

However, there\'s a good chance it will make it less likely to come out from the person in first. If someone is willing to fold immediately (as I would do if I was in first place), they wouldn\'t take any chances and by the time they run out of genbutsu (100% safe tiles) your discard pile will have grown and they\'ll have a lot to work with. So by riichi-ing, you essentially lose 1/4 of the tiles you could potentially win on.

Bunta
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 10:16 am

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by Bunta » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:37 pm

I wouldn´t reach, cuz its already haneman like said before and you can change your wait all the time. i wouldnt wanna wait for dragons and windtiles.

Yukun
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:48 pm
Location: Tochigi,Japan

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by Yukun » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:47 pm

Hi, everyone. first time commenting.

I\'d riich on the second situation since South-machi seems pretty good. 1south has already been discarded, which means there is better chance no one needs South in their hands as Anko nor Head.
I guess many Japanese player do in this way, since skilled players wouldn\'t discard any 生牌(shonpai=living pai?). (Sry I dun know a good translation for this term.)
Thus, I wouldn\'t riich on the first situation. However, if you are so confident with your tsumo-skill or luck, why not riich in both case? I guess nobody would blame you for riiching this.You dun wanna miss Hane-man or Bai-man hand!

However, if someone has riiched prior to your tempai, riich is better in both case because some player may discard wind-tile although they have a pair or Anko in their hand.

Benjamin
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:49 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by Benjamin » Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:22 pm

Yttrasil wrote:So I get a great hand, is the last
By this, you *do* mean that it\'s the last *round* right? That is to say, you\'re playing an East-round only game, right?

If it isn\'t the last round, I agree with everything Yukun says.

Yukun
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:48 pm
Location: Tochigi,Japan

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by Yukun » Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:35 pm

oops I missed that. So this is the last round.

Then...prolly no need of riich in both case.
riiching is too risky!!

Since this is the last round and everyone wants some sort of hand, so any tile might come out easily. Wind-tile(ota-kaze)is best!

Thanks for letting me know that Benjamin!

sir_seagill
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:29 am

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by sir_seagill » Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:32 pm

no reach, no need.

let people go for their hands and discard their useless tiles..

User avatar
Shirluban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim
Contact:

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by Shirluban » Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:15 pm

I don\'t think riiching or not would made a big difference here.

In doubt don\'t reach, and the wanted tile would come naturaly as opponents discard their usless ones.
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

5dots
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:39 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re:Yo, What would you discard this time?

Post by 5dots » Sun Jan 25, 2009 9:35 am

I\'ll reach for both cases. I\'m not caring if the hand is big enough or not, but I want to give warning to opponents and make them throwing the tiles which is more safe - especially the winds and dragons. I\'ll wait for green-dra for the second case - it gives a precious one more chance ;)

Post Reply