WWYD 2012/04/25

Discussions about the What Would You Discard/Do from the main page.
Your own WWYD are also welcome.

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply


You may select 1 option

View results

User avatar
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim

WWYD 2012/04/25

Post by Shirluban » Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:18 pm


I'll discard 4-dot.
We have the same chances to make sanshoku than ittsu, but here we can get junchan in top of sanshoku. So I'll favor the more rewarding sanshoku+junchan.
By discarding the 4-dot before the 6-dot, I keek a chance to be tenpai if I draw any of 1-bam 2-bam 1-dot 2-dot (but if it happens, I'll seriously consider letting it pass, considering the difference of the hands' values).

Discarding 9-dot would be a good choice too, to keep open both the sanshoku and ittsu possibilities, but we would be ryanshanten from ittsu and hardly could make junchan anymore.
Last edited by Shirluban on Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: typo
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 1:00 am

Re: WWYD 2012/04/25

Post by Iapetus » Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:01 pm

Discarding 4-dot only removes 4 tiles to tenpai out of 24 while allowing for a massive point increase in junchan sanshoku.

Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:31 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: WWYD 2012/04/25

Post by WaveMaster » Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:02 pm


Hard to see this any other way. The ittsu isn't any easier than sanshoku junchan, and is worth less. From a more basic standpoint, you aren't improving your tenpai by keeping the 4d either.

Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: WWYD 2012/04/25

Post by Kyuu » Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:10 am

Iapetus wrote:Discarding 4-dot only removes 4 tiles to tenpai out of 24 while allowing for a massive point increase in junchan sanshoku.
Agree. First the 4-dot ... then the 6-dot eventually, assuming either a 3-dot or 3-bam come via draw or from West seat. It's very early this hand anyways.

Post Reply