iipeikou problem

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
User avatar
chalwa
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 10:01 am
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Contact:

iipeikou problem

Post by chalwa » Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:46 pm

As we all know when we have concealed hand with 3 koutsu, and shanpon-machi, we have to get tsumo for suuankou. But what about iipeikou, when we have 2-dot 2-dot 3-dot 4-dot 4-dot wait (with concealed hand) and someone discards that 3-dot. Will it be iipeikou or not? Until recently I have thought that yes, because it is concealed hand, I can even have riichi, so no matter how you look at it, it fits the requirements. But after I have though about suuankou, analogically iipeikou should not be counted if not made by tsumo. But if that’s so, then iipeikou would be even more hard to get, and still it is worth not much.
So anyone knows for sure if iipeikou should be counted in (for example) that situation:
red-dra red-dra red-dra 2-dot 2-dot 3-dot 4-dot 4-dot 3-bam 3-bam 3-bam :east :east ron on 3-dot
Last edited by chalwa on Thu May 20, 2010 6:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

andrewshen123
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:12 am

Re:iipeikou problem

Post by andrewshen123 » Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:16 am

Yes, this still counts as iipeikou. The reason why suuankou doesn\'t count on a ron is because while the hand is closed, one of the four mentsu isn\'t, which is the important part of the hand. This is also why suuankou tanki counts even on a ron, since the four mentsu are still closed.

User avatar
chalwa
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 10:01 am
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Contact:

Re:iipeikou problem

Post by chalwa » Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:46 pm

I have never thought about that mentsu can be open while \"hand\" in general is closed, but it looks like it is it. So when I have, for example riichi with shanpon machi, and won on discard, I will count (fu) this koutsu as min-koutsu not an-koutsu, yes? And in iipeikou case it is min-shuntsu, but this yaku needs closed hand not closed shuntsu, and in shuntsu we don\'t count fu so it doesn\'t matter?

User avatar
Shirluban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim
Contact:

Re:iipeikou problem

Post by Shirluban » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:29 pm

Yes.
When you ron, the last set (or pair) is open, while the hand is still concealed (if no other set is open).

For iipeikou, the hand needs to be concealed. So it doesn\'t matter if the last set is open or not.

For sanankou (and suankou), the 3 (4) koutsu need to be concealed, not the hand. Here, the way you complete the last koutsu is determinant.
If you ron the last koutsu, it will be open.
To have an an-koutsu you need to tsumo it, or win on an other set/pair.
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules 2022
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

Post Reply