Yakuman Club

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Kyuu
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Kyuu » Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:58 am

Believe it or not -- my first Yakuman against humans was a Suu Ankou. However, at the end of the game, I still placed 4th. :lol:

http://tenhou.net/0/?log=2010072116gm-0 ... &tw=1&ts=1

Schmahxgn
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:00 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Schmahxgn » Sun Aug 19, 2012 1:01 pm

I once attained a Daisangen hand. That was a great moment. I've also once executed a Churin Poto. There have been two occasions where I was tenpai on a thirteen orphans hand.

Xa0s
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:59 am
Location: Greece

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Xa0s » Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:07 pm

I also have made my first yakuman irl ...
http://postimage.org/image/5u8dfei67/

Goldeneye
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:35 pm

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Goldeneye » Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:58 pm

Whoa, you made a Chuuren Poutou? I've not really been close to that hand myself in many thousand hands of riichi mahjong (including the days of original Yakuman of 2-player riichi mahjong for the Game Boy)!

I doubt that yours was the Junsei version (waiting on any tile of that suit that is).

I am equally surprised you actually haven't made Kokushi Musou!

xKime
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:16 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by xKime » Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:38 pm

Goldeneye wrote:Whoa, you made a Chuuren Poutou? I've not really been close to that hand myself in many thousand hands of riichi mahjong (including the days of original Yakuman of 2-player riichi mahjong for the Game Boy)!

I doubt that yours was the Junsei version (waiting on any tile of that suit that is).

I am equally surprised you actually haven't made Kokushi Musou!
I have RECORDED my Junsei Chuuren!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSnKK-ehu_k

Referee
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Referee » Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:04 pm

"It had to happen some day, and it had to happen with Sou". Why did it have to happen with Sou?

PS: I didn't know xKime was a girl.
Last edited by Referee on Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

xKime
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:16 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by xKime » Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:15 pm

Referee wrote:"It had to happen some day, and it had to happen with Sou". Why did it have to happen with Sou?
Because every time a club member was close to achieving chuuren, it always had been in souzu.

xKime
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:16 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by xKime » Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:42 am

This doesn't happen very often in the 4-6d table at tenhou...

Image

Xa0s
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:59 am
Location: Greece

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Xa0s » Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:22 am

A quick question. If the dealer makes double riichi at his first discard
and the south player deals immediately his wining tile.Is it a Renho Yakuman or not ???

Kyuu
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Kyuu » Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:36 am

Xa0s wrote:A quick question. If the dealer makes double riichi at his first discard
and the south player deals immediately his wining tile.Is it a Renho Yakuman or not ???
Nope. That's Double Riichi + Ippatsu. (And ouch)

Renho applies to non-dealers, where that first discard is the win.

For Tenhou, Chihou, Renhou -- tenpai must exist before any tile is drawn or discarded. In the case of Tenhou, the dealer wins before anything happens. So, the fact that the dealer had to drop something in order to get tenpai... that already disqualifies the condition.

===

And speaking of ouch, I played into someone's 13-sided Kokushi today... :cry:

Xa0s
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:59 am
Location: Greece

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Xa0s » Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:22 pm

Kyuu wrote:
Xa0s wrote:A quick question. If the dealer makes double riichi at his first discard
and the south player deals immediately his wining tile.Is it a Renho Yakuman or not ???
Nope. That's Double Riichi + Ippatsu. (And ouch)

Renho applies to non-dealers, where that first discard is the win.

For Tenhou, Chihou, Renhou -- tenpai must exist before any tile is drawn or discarded. In the case of Tenhou, the dealer wins before anything happens. So, the fact that the dealer had to drop something in order to get tenpai... that already disqualifies the condition.
Isn't that a a little bit unfair??
ex. The North player will have the opportunity to go out from 3 discard and a shelf Draw.

And considering that East draws 14 tiles and discards one ..he can claim that he is in tenpai from the beginning.

xKime
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:16 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by xKime » Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:38 pm

Xa0s wrote:
Kyuu wrote:
Xa0s wrote:A quick question. If the dealer makes double riichi at his first discard
and the south player deals immediately his wining tile.Is it a Renho Yakuman or not ???
Nope. That's Double Riichi + Ippatsu. (And ouch)

Renho applies to non-dealers, where that first discard is the win.

For Tenhou, Chihou, Renhou -- tenpai must exist before any tile is drawn or discarded. In the case of Tenhou, the dealer wins before anything happens. So, the fact that the dealer had to drop something in order to get tenpai... that already disqualifies the condition.
Isn't that a a little bit unfair??
ex. The North player will have the opportunity to go out from 3 discard and a shelf Draw.

And considering that East draws 14 tiles and discards one ..he can claim that he is in tenpai from the beginning.
Considering that renhou isn't ever used (especially as a yakuman) anymore, with the exception of some beginner-oriented mahjong games, no.

Kyuu
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Kyuu » Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:32 pm

Initially, I wasn't going to count this... but... why the heck not. :lol:

Last night, I did this using real tiles. Although one player (right) was missing due to... absence... and it was played open - with tile draw/discard collectively decided as the best course of action.

4-dot 5-dot 6-dot :south :south :south :east :east :west :west Ron: :east (across) Open: :north :north :north (from right)

And yes, I had witnesses. :lol:

Goldeneye
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 6:35 pm

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Goldeneye » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:46 pm

In the span of, a little less than one and a half months, I made a total of four yakuman in Janryumon, all different and one of them being a counted yakuman...

September 12th (Shou Suu Shi):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3hbg8q3Tcdw
Image
Image

October 5th (Ryuu Iisou):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjxbHfC9WkI
Image
Image

October 7th (Suu Ankou in League):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rhf0WUQGvw0
Image
Image

October 20th (Kazoe Yakuman):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDfWwFry-ek
Image

Referee
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Yakuman Club

Post by Referee » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:53 am

double ura ankou. Baiman. No, sanbaiman. No, kazoe yakuman. :)

Post Reply