Nagashi Mangan

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
Bunta
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 10:16 am

Nagashi Mangan

Post by Bunta » Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:15 am

I was wondering if anybody got nagashi mangan once? I think this is one of the hardest hands to get. Maybe harder then Yakuman. I had 14 tiles discarded once.
Is there someone playing with this rule and even made it???

WorTeX
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:36 am
Location: Finland

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by WorTeX » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:16 am

Only made it against bots in tenhou because they don\'t claim anything. With real players I think I\'ve gotten couple of tiles away from it.

Benjamin
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:49 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by Benjamin » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:59 pm

I\'ve made it, but only once. I don\'t really like the rule, but it happens so rarely its almost not worth taking out.

sir_seagill
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:29 am

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by sir_seagill » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:07 pm

I got it once on tenhou. Trying to go for a non terminal hand but kept drawing them. The game was nearing the end and my hand was a mess so I went for it, discarding the 3 dora 9-bam.

Image

Amajanshi
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:52 am

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by Amajanshi » Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:58 pm

I\'ve gotten Nagashi Mangan two times on the SNES Jap Mahjong games before, but in real life never.

5dots
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:39 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by 5dots » Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:17 pm

I got it once but there is a problem.
What should I count in this situation? :unsure: Image

WorTeX
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:36 am
Location: Finland

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by WorTeX » Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:58 pm

You mean how to distribute score? it goes like mangan tsumo(8/12k), so 2000 from others and 4000 from dealer, or if you are dealer, 4000 from all.

5dots
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:39 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by 5dots » Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:16 pm

Oops. I forgot to spot out what\'s wrong.
The opposite player\'s reach was a foul one, so should I count a chonbo-hand or mangan-hand?

One more question. Should you treat nagashi as a draw game (which brings the non-ready hand punishment)or a winning game(which you can take the 1000-points for reach and \"honba\")?

WorTeX
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:36 am
Location: Finland

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by WorTeX » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:58 pm

You won the hand because of the nagashi mangan, since it\'s counted as a hand, so the false riichi doesn\'t count because it wouldn\'t had to be shown.

And same as above, not a draw, you won taking the mangan tsumo-score + riichi ;P

User avatar
Shirluban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim
Contact:

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by Shirluban » Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:03 pm

5dots wrote:I got it once but there is a problem.
What should I count in this situation? :unsure: Image
5dots wrote:Oops. I forgot to spot out what\'s wrong.
The opposite player\'s reach was a foul one, so should I count a chonbo-hand or mangan-hand?
Lets seem if I follow corectly:
- You are the up-right player (with a nagashi mangan hand).
- The down-left player (the one wich hand is visible) made an invalid riichi.

If it\'s this, you have win the hand and others players don\'t have to show their one.
By the way, the down-left player have no penality for his invalid riichi.

5dots wrote: One more question. Should you treat nagashi as a draw game (which brings the non-ready hand punishment)or a winning game(which you can take the 1000-points for reach and "honba")?
Nagashi mangan is a win.
So, like any other way to win, nobody checks if players\' hand are ready or not, nor if someone made an invalid riichi.
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

Flieg
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:36 pm
Location: Poznan, Poland

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by Flieg » Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:38 pm

As I found in EMA Riichi rules:
\"All Terminals and Honours Discard NAGASHI MANGAN
This special hand cannot be combined
with any other hand. After an exhaustive draw, a player can claim this special
hand if he has a concealed hand, has discarded only terminal and honour tiles and
none of his discards has been claimed. The player does not have to be tenpai. The
player receives payment equivalent to a self-drawn mangan, plus counters and riichi
bets.\"

---
\"3.4.2 Exhaustive draw
An exhaustive draw occurs if no-one declares a win after the discard after the last tile. [...]\"

---
\"3.4.6 Chombo
Severe offenses are punished by chombo, after which there is a re-deal of the current
hand. If a win is declared at the same time as a chombo occurs, the chombo is voided.
[...]
The following offences are subject to chombo penalty:
• invalidly declaring a win
• declaring riichi on a hand that is not waiting (determined only in case of a drawn
game)
[...]
After a chombo riichi bets are returned to the players who declared riichi, and there
is a re-deal. No counter is placed, and the dealer does not rotate.\"


So if:
-the reaching person declared a win it\'s chombo
-the reaching person didn\'t declared a win it\'s mangan

Benjamin
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:49 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by Benjamin » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:16 pm

In the picture, doesnt the person with the nagashi-mangan also have a concealed kan? Depending on what rules you use, this may invalidate the nagashi-mangan.

WorTeX
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:36 am
Location: Finland

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by WorTeX » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:07 pm

no, the player with nagashi sits in the right upper corner, opposite of reacher.

Benjamin
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:49 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by Benjamin » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:15 pm

Ah, my bad.

sir_seagill
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:29 am

Re:Nagashi Mangan

Post by sir_seagill » Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:20 am

the funniest thing would be the look on the other player\'s faces when they\'re in tenpai and you declare the win at the end of the game: expecting to gain 0-3000 points instead they lose 2000-4000. (too bad only got it online)

Post Reply