Rules & Questioning

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:42 am
Location: The frozen part of HELL!

Re:Rules & Questioning

Post by Senechal » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:14 pm

kylone wrote: (Two schools of thought: 1) since the discarder didn\'t discard the winning tile, how can he be responsible;
Essentially, the concept of throwing a live tile, in which none of the three other copies have been thrown yet, is considered to be taking a wild risk when it comes to making unsafe discards. This often leads to a quick ron, or on occasion, a kan call. If someone wins off that kan, the risk is considered to be as grave as throwing the ron tile itself.

I tell people straight up in case they forget before calling kan: "if I can win off that, you\'re paying it all."
Club Riichi de Montréal (Canada) (If you're from elsewhere, keep in touch with us too!)

Post Reply