Page 1 of 1
Oh... wait.
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:22 pm
by July
This just happened to me on Ron2... A second after I called the reach, I thought \"wait a minute...\"
Man, my brain is turned off today.
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:23 pm
by Robert
I could be wrong, but I believe that under JPML rules, you were not in tenpai.
Jenn (or Gemma), we need your help here.
Please go to the rules page and tell me what it says about riichi and tenpai. The rules page is here:
http://www.ma-jan.or.jp/guide/game_rule.php
So... was this chombo?
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:31 pm
by July
Nope... it\'s still tenpai even if there are no copies of your winning tile available.
For instance, if it goes to a ryuukyoku, you can still say \"tenpai\". Thought it\'s not \"tenpai\" in the sense that you can win with it, I guess.
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:16 am
by Senechal
Robert\'s link points to the explanation given: \"yaku-nashi and keishiki tenpai are accepted, however waiting for a 5th copy of a tile in your hand is excluded.\"
Does having that ankan there count then ?
For one, this was a mid-hand thing. I think the resolution would simply be that the player is no-ten... wait, this is worse than chicken and egg.
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:17 am
by hirohurl
The way we play in Hiroshima, you wouldn\'t get any points for being \"Tenpai\" at the end of a no-result game because it is impossible for you to finish.
And for going Riichi we might claim a \"Chombo\" penalty... but I need to check that.
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:00 am
by iandstanley
Strangely enough
google translate translates Reach as Leach .... it\'s like some bad 1970s comedy :S
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:08 am
by iandstanley
I\'d agree with this definition.
Tenpai is based upon your remaining tiles ... are you waiting on one tile to go out? It does not take into account already played/discarded tiles
You can even reach by mistake where the only tiles you can go out on are safely discarded. I got caught out by this online whilst learning. It did not occur to me that I would be terminally furiten if I clicked on the now enabled Reachi button
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 2:04 pm
by Ruro
yea tenpai is the stat when you need only 1 tile to win, and even if you are furiten for it you are in tenpai and you can reach too (that is the furiten riichi), you can reach when there are none of your winning tiles left (all 4 in the pond) that is called kara-ten riichi if i remember correctly. Actually these two type of riichis mentioned above are the biggest bluffs in reach mahjong :)
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:09 pm
by Senechal
This isn\'t kara-ten by definition because the player is the one holding all 4 copies with the closed kan, thus the confusion. If they were spent in any other arrangement, it would (say closed copy straight 55677, the other 3 can be burnt elsewhere), that is kara-ten.
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:42 pm
by Poochy
I\'ve actually encountered a similar situation on Mahjong Fight Club, when I had a 1199 shanpon wait, but the other two of each tile had already been discarded, making it impossible for me to complete my hand. The game still told me I was tenpai (albeit with two warnings, one for each tile that was already gone), and if I remember correctly, the hand ended in a draw and my hand counted as tenpai.
As far as I know, the \"standard\" rule is that even if you\'d need a 5th copy of a tile to complete your hand because of copies of the tile already revealed, it still counts as tenpai, though table rules may vary.
This does raise another question, though: If you had 77888899, does the 8 count as a wait?
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:27 am
by Robert
There is a difference between waiting on a tile that has already been discarded and waiting on a tile that does not exist in the set of tiles you are playing with (as we all know, a standard mahjong set includes only 4 of each tile).
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:38 pm
by Shirluban
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:55 am
by Poochy
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:46 am
by Robert
My guess is, the JPML does not use the JPML rules!!
Re:Oh... wait.
Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:10 am
by Poochy
And upon further investigation, I found a clarification on the official MFC website: Under Fight Club rules, a wait that would require a 5th copy of a tile counts as tenpai, BUT if all four copies of all the tiles in your wait have been revealed or are in your hand, you are not allowed to Reach on such a wait.
My interpretation of this is: If you have 6789999 and opponents have already pon\'d the 6, you are still tenpai in the event of a draw, but you can\'t Reach on that wait.
(Edit: By the way, Fight Club rules are completely different from JPML rules. Fight Club does have \"Contest Rules\" that are heavily based on JPML A-Rules, but my previous example occurred while playing under default Fight Club rules.)