When do you put down 1000-points when you Reach?

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
suihi
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 6:57 am

When do you put down 1000-points when you Reach?

Post by suihi » Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:44 pm

On JanRyuMon, the 1000 points is not put on the table until it\'s another player\'s turn - that is, if the discard passes through or if someone calls a Pon or Chi, the 1000 points is only put on the table after. If someone declares Ron on the reach discard, then the 1000 points is not given up.

However, in other video games I\'ve noticed that the 1000 points goes on the table right away. For example, watch this Sega MJ4 video that I stumbled across today.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9mElr_btww

In the scoring screen, the 1000 point stick is displayed as part of the winnings.

So... which is it?

hirohurl
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:55 pm
Location: Hiroshima, Japan
Contact:

Re:When do you put down 1000-points when you Reach?

Post by hirohurl » Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:17 pm

Usually you declare Riichi and put your Riichi-tenbou down, but if someone goes out on your discard you can retrieve your tenbou.

Conventions vary, however!

User avatar
Shirluban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim
Contact:

Re:When do you put down 1000-points when you Reach?

Post by Shirluban » Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:28 pm

As Mr Hurley said, it\'s a matter of local convention.
Anyway, if someone ron your riichi-tile, you keep your 1000 poitns bet (in other terms, you riichi declaration is canceled).

IMHO, it\'s better to put the riichi stick on the table immediatly to avoid forgetting.
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

Benjamin
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:49 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re:When do you put down 1000-points when you Reach?

Post by Benjamin » Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:10 am

AFAIK, the best way to handle this is for the *next person* not to draw (or call) until the riichi stick is on the table. This prevents all problems.

Post Reply