Dealer continuance & 5 sticks

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Junior Reacher
Junior Reacher
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:47 am

Re:Dealer continuance & 5 sticks

Post by Johnstonjamese » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:01 pm

Ruro wrote:I thought that reaching with a noten hand is against the rules :P but maybe there are situations when you would rather take the possible chonbo for it rather then let someone win with a sanbaiman (for example you see the other player has called like 4 tiles and that makes him/her a dora 8, in that situation i would consider getting a chombo on a no-ten reach rather then paying out a dealer sanbaiman).
So is noten reach against the rules or not?
If you\'re goal is to chombo, why not just false ron. If you no ten reach you still may play into it by accident... either way make a habit of it and you\'ll probably be asked to leave where ever you\'re playing at.

User avatar
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:00 am
Location: Hungary

Re:Dealer continuance & 5 sticks

Post by Ruro » Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:26 pm

well yea declaring false ron all over the time would be damn rude. Anyway we are drifting off from the main topic so i just stop my theory\'s at this point :)
Just play fair every time and nothing can go wrong.

Post Reply