Chi for Ron

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
cavemaneca
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:30 am

Chi for Ron

Post by cavemaneca » Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:11 am

simple question really, title says it all.
Player across from me won of my discard, completing a 5-dot 7-dot with my 6-dot .
Now, I thought this was an invalid move? Tenhou has a bug maybe?

WorTeX
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:36 am
Location: Finland

Re: Chi for Ron

Post by WorTeX » Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:39 am

just why would that be a bug? that is just as valid wait as any other wait. If it gave the opponent points for a PINFU with closed wait, then it's a bug.

cavemaneca
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:30 am

Re: Chi for Ron

Post by cavemaneca » Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:35 am

I'm saying, I was south and he was north.
I thought you could only chi of the person to your left.

User avatar
burke
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:05 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Chi for Ron

Post by burke » Mon Jul 19, 2010 6:23 am

cavemaneca wrote:I'm saying, I was south and he was north.
I thought you could only chi of the person to your left.
When you go out, you are allowed to complete any kind of set, even the pair. It is not CHII or PON, it is RON.

cavemaneca
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:30 am

Re: Chi for Ron

Post by cavemaneca » Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:05 am

burke wrote:
cavemaneca wrote:I'm saying, I was south and he was north.
I thought you could only chi of the person to your left.
When you go out, you are allowed to complete any kind of set, even the pair. It is not CHII or PON, it is RON.
thnx i didn't realize it worked that way...

Referee
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Chi for Ron

Post by Referee » Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:02 pm

Burke is right. When north claims the 6-pin, he doesn't say "Chi!", but rather "Ron!", and this is unrestricted.

User avatar
b4k4ni04
Junior Reacher
Junior Reacher
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:44 pm

Re: Chi for Ron

Post by b4k4ni04 » Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:40 pm

Well, he's restricted to having a yaku worth at least 1-han, but that's a bit of a tangent ^_^;;.
〜〜〜星空が最高の舞台/カラスたちカーカーと鳴くよ/いつも思うよ いつ寝てるんだろ〜〜〜 I'm sorry teh b4k4 is lost to GlDeMo please try again later *bzzt* 〜b4k4

Referee
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Chi for Ron

Post by Referee » Tue Jul 20, 2010 7:24 pm

OK, point conceded. :P

Post Reply