Why I can't Yaku

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Fly Tail
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Why I can't Yaku

Post by Fly Tail » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:13 pm

Hello everyone, I'm new to Riichi Mahjong, and I been trying and learning on how to play it.

The game I been practicing is Saikyo no Mahjong 3D. However I still can't get an open hand yaku.

In this picture below, I "pon" my left opponent who had riichi on that turn to meld 2,3,4 Pin. And the last title at that moment is only one Pin 1. And then, on my turn I pick up the last Pin 1 from the wall, but for whatever the reason, I did not satisfy the yaku. Why? This is not the first time where I got the last pair titles in my hand.
Attachments
Why no Win!.jpg
Why no Win!.jpg (139.77 KiB) Viewed 5208 times

Shirluban

Re: Why I can't Yaku

Post by Shirluban » Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:05 pm

Hello and welcome.

It looks like your hand doesn't have any yaku.
A yaku is a scoring pattern required in order to win.
The allowed yaku varie slightly from rules to rules ; you can find a list of yaku commonly used here:
https://ooyamaneko.net/mahjong/bookcmp/ ... 5&chap=6.5

Here, I'm not sure which yaku you were aiming for.
- pinfu (all chi) also requires an open-ended wait and the hand to be concealed.
- tanyao (tiles #2 to 8 only) can not be made with tiles numbered 1,9, winds, or dragons (and is concealed-only in some rules).
- menzen tsumo (self-drawn concealed hand) requires the hand to be concealed.
- "three shifted chow" (123, 234, 345 in three suits) simply doesn't exists in riichi mahjong ; it's a scoring pattern from another kind of mahjong (MCR).
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules 2022
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

Fly Tail
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Post by Fly Tail » Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:36 pm

Shirluban wrote:Hello and welcome.

It looks like your hand doesn't have any yaku.